260  
WWUS73 KABR 241632  
NPWABR  
 
URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE  
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE ABERDEEN SD  
1132 AM CDT MON JUL 24 2017  
 
SDZ033-045-048-250100-  
/O.CON.KABR.HT.Y.0004.170724T2000Z-170725T0100Z/  
STANLEY-JONES-LYMAN-  
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF MISSION RIDGE, MURDO, AND KENNEBEC  
1132 AM CDT MON JUL 24 2017 /1032 AM MDT MON JUL 24 2017/  
 
...HEAT ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 3 PM CDT /2 PM MDT/ THIS  
AFTERNOON TO 8 PM CDT /7 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING...  
 
* HEAT INDEX VALUES...FROM 100 TO 105 DEGREES  
 
* TIMING...MID AFTERNOON THROUGH EARLY EVENING.  
 
* IMPACTS...THE HEAT AND HUMIDITY MAY CAUSE HEAT STRESS DURING  
OUTDOOR EXERTION OR EXTENDED EXPOSURE.  
 
PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...  
 
A HEAT ADVISORY MEANS THAT A PERIOD OF HOT TEMPERATURES IS  
EXPECTED. THE COMBINATION OF HOT TEMPERATURES AND HIGH HUMIDITY  
WILL COMBINE TO CREATE A SITUATION IN WHICH HEAT ILLNESSES ARE  
POSSIBLE. DRINK PLENTY OF FLUIDS, STAY IN AN AIR-CONDITIONED  
ROOM, STAY OUT OF THE SUN, AND CHECK UP ON RELATIVES AND  
NEIGHBORS.  
 
TAKE EXTRA PRECAUTIONS, IF YOU WORK OR SPEND TIME OUTSIDE. WHEN  
POSSIBLE, RESCHEDULE STRENUOUS ACTIVITIES TO EARLY MORNING OR  
EVENING. KNOW THE SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS OF HEAT EXHAUSTION AND HEAT  
STROKE. WEAR LIGHT WEIGHT AND LOOSE FITTING CLOTHING WHEN  
POSSIBLE AND DRINK PLENTY OF WATER.  
 
TO REDUCE RISK DURING OUTDOOR WORK, THE OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND  
HEALTH ADMINISTRATION RECOMMENDS SCHEDULING FREQUENT REST BREAKS  
IN SHADED OR AIR CONDITIONED ENVIRONMENTS. ANYONE OVERCOME BY  
HEAT SHOULD BE MOVED TO A COOL AND SHADED LOCATION. HEAT STROKE  
IS AN EMERGENCY, CALL 9 1 1.  
 

 
 

 
 
CONNELLY  
 
CLICK HERE TO GO TO PREVIOUS BULLETINS.

The Nexlab SD Page
The Nexlab MN Page Main Text Page