760  
WHUS41 KAKQ 102046  
CFWAKQ  
 
COASTAL HAZARD MESSAGE  
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE WAKEFIELD VA  
346 PM EST MON DEC 10 2018  
 
VAZ098-102200-  
/O.EXP.KAKQ.SU.Y.0016.000000T0000Z-181210T2100Z/  
VIRGINIA BEACH-  
346 PM EST MON DEC 10 2018  
   
..HIGH SURF ADVISORY WILL EXPIRE AT 4 PM EST THIS AFTERNOON
 
 

 
 
NCZ102-110300-  
/O.CON.KAKQ.SU.Y.0016.000000T0000Z-181211T0300Z/  
EASTERN CURRITUCK-  
346 PM EST MON DEC 10 2018  
 
...HIGH SURF ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 10 PM EST THIS  
EVENING...  
 
* LOCATION...OUTER BANKS CURRITUCK.  
 
* TIMING...DURING HIGH TIDE THIS MORNING. HIGH SURF THROUGH THIS  
EVENING.  
 
* COASTAL FLOOD IMPACTS...WIDESPREAD FLOODING OF VULNERABLE  
AREAS WILL RESULT IN AN ELEVATED THREAT OF PROPERTY DAMAGE TO  
HOMES AND BUSINESSES NEAR THE WATERFRONT AND SHORELINE. WATER  
WILL BE 1 TO 2 FEET ABOVE GROUND LEVEL IN SOME AREAS RESULTING  
IN A SUFFICIENT DEPTH TO CLOSE NUMEROUS ROADS AND THREATEN  
HOMES AND BUSINESSES. FLOODING WILL EXTEND INLAND FROM THE  
WATERFRONT ALONG TIDAL RIVERS AND BAYS RESULTING IN SOME ROAD  
CLOSURES AND FLOODING OF VEHICLES.  
 
* SURF OR RIP CURRENT RISK...LARGE BREAKING WAVES OF 8 TO 12 FT  
WILL RESULT IN DANGEROUS SURF CONDITIONS. DO NOT ENTER OR  
APPROACH THE WATER DUE TO THE RISK OF BEING SWEPT AWAY.  
 
PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...  
 
A HIGH SURF ADVISORY MEANS THAT HIGH SURF WILL AFFECT BEACHES IN  
THE ADVISORY AREA...PRODUCING LOCALIZED BEACH EROSION AND  
DANGEROUS SWIMMING CONDITIONS.  
 

 
 

 
 
CLICK HERE TO GO TO PREVIOUS BULLETINS.

The Nexlab VA Page
The Nexlab NC Page
The Nexlab MD Page Main Text Page