358  
WWUS73 KMQT 171634  
NPWMQT  
 
URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE  
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MARQUETTE MI  
1234 PM EDT THU SEP 17 2020  
 
MIZ001>007-009>014-084-085-181400-  
/O.NEW.KMQT.FZ.W.0001.200918T0300Z-200918T1400Z/  
KEWEENAW-ONTONAGON-NORTHERN HOUGHTON-BARAGA-MARQUETTE-ALGER-LUCE-  
GOGEBIC-IRON-DICKINSON-MENOMINEE-DELTA-SOUTHERN SCHOOLCRAFT-  
SOUTHERN HOUGHTON-NORTHERN SCHOOLCRAFT-  
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF COPPER HARBOR, ONTONAGON, HOUGHTON,  
HANCOCK, L'ANSE, GWINN, MARQUETTE, GRAND MARAIS, MUNISING,  
NEWBERRY, IRONWOOD, IRON RIVER, IRON MOUNTAIN, MENOMINEE,  
ESCANABA, GLADSTONE, MANISTIQUE, KENTON, SIDNAW, AND SENEY  
1234 PM EDT THU SEP 17 2020 /1134 AM CDT THU SEP 17 2020/  
 
...FREEZE WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ THIS  
EVENING TO 10 AM EDT /9 AM CDT/ FRIDAY...  
 
* WHAT...TEMPERATURES IN THE MID 20S TO LOW 30S WILL RESULT IN  
HEAVY FROST AND A KILLING FREEZE. COLDEST TEMPERATURES WILL BE  
IN THE INTERIOR, AWAY FROM THE GREAT LAKES.  
 
* WHERE...ALL OF UPPER MICHIGAN.  
 
* WHEN...FROM 11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ THIS EVENING TO 10 AM EDT /9  
AM CDT/ FRIDAY.  
 
* IMPACTS...FROST AND FREEZE CONDITIONS WILL KILL CROPS, OTHER  
SENSITIVE VEGETATION AND POSSIBLY DAMAGE UNPROTECTED OUTDOOR  
PLUMBING.  
 
PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...  
 
TAKE STEPS NOW TO PROTECT TENDER PLANTS FROM THE COLD. TO PREVENT  
FREEZING AND POSSIBLE BURSTING OF OUTDOOR WATER PIPES THEY SHOULD  
BE WRAPPED, DRAINED, OR ALLOWED TO DRIP SLOWLY. THOSE THAT HAVE  
IN-GROUND SPRINKLER SYSTEMS SHOULD DRAIN THEM AND COVER ABOVE-  
GROUND PIPES TO PROTECT THEM FROM FREEZING.  
 

 
 

 
 
FOR MORE INFORMATION FROM THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE VISIT  
HTTPS://WEATHER.GOV/MQT  
 
CLICK HERE TO GO TO PREVIOUS BULLETINS.

The Nexlab MI Page Main Text Page